Election Night 2019: Incumbents Win Big in Salisbury City Council Races

Salisbury, Md. (DELMARVA NEWS NOW) — The results are in from Salisbury’s city government elections today, and all incumbents running will return to the city council.

In City Council District 1, incumbent April Jackson won with 267 votes, 64 percent of the vote, beating Timothy Shepperd who garnered 120 votes and Mable Marshall who won 28 votes. Jackson has held the seat since 2015. She has faced controversy in the past facing assault charges in 2018 and calling President Donald Trump “retarded” in a 2017 social media post.

In City Council District 2, incumbent Muir Boda won with 151 votes. 10 write ins were cast. Boda is currently the City Council Vice President. He ran unopposed in this election.

In City Council District 3, incumbent Jack Heath won with 542 votes, 80 percent of the vote. Challenger Riley Smith received 128 votes. Heath currently serves as the President of the City Council

In City Council District 4, Michele Gregory won with 439 votes, 78 percent of the vote. Challenger Jonathan Taylor received 104 votes. This was the only open seat on the council as former Mayor and current District 4 councilman Jim Ireton chose not the run for re-election.

In City Council District 5, incumbent Angela Blake received 444 votes and 62 percent of the vote. Shawn Jester received 263 votes.